Q: Will this claim affect my Insurance Premium?
A: In truth, traffic citations, auto accidents and claims
affect insurance rates. At-fault accidents tend to have a greater impact
than not-at-fault accidents -- but exactly how much, is hard to say.
Our best advice is to consult your agent and, please, drive carefully
Q: How do I report a NEW claim to my company?
A: 24 hours a day, 7 days a week you can report a new claim by calling
toll-free 1-877-875-8038. Be sure to have your policy number,
which begins with the letters “UU” followed by 7 or 8 numbers. Your agent
can also assist you in making a claim. You can also
submit a claim right here.
Q: Are there situations that I DO NOT need to report a claim
to my company?
A: Generally, if you are in an auto accident, you should report
it to your company. However, if your vehicle sustains physical damage but you
have “liability-only” coverage and there are no injuries, you may not need to
make a claim. Likewise, if the other party accepts fault and they, or their
insurance company, have agreed to pay your property damages, you may not need
to make a claim under your own policy. But, if there is a dispute regarding fault,
if injuries were sustained or if you would just like the assistance of your
company, go ahead and report the claim.
Q: I purchased “Liability Only” coverage. What does that mean?
A: It means that you have no coverage for damage to your own vehicle
but your insurance company will pay for damages you cause to others -- to the extent
you are legally liable for those damages and up to the limits (amounts) you purchased.
Each state has required minimum liability limits. In Utah, the minimum liability
limit is: $15,000 for property damage and $25,000 for bodily injury. Caution:
If you are found liable for damages greater than your policy limits, you COULD be
personally responsible for amounts and/or legal judgments beyond what your insurance
covers. Consult your agent to discuss the coverage and limits which
are best for you.
Q: If I’m involved in an auto accident, should I always call the police?
A: Yes! Even small accidents can blow up into larger,
more complicated matters. It’s best to immediately involve authorities
to investigate and obtain all the required documentation. Beware of “at-fault”
people who don’t want to involve the police.
Q: If I’m cited in an accident, does that mean I’m solely at-fault?
A: Getting a citation generally means your actions are
seen to, at least, contribute to the accident but it does not mean you
are automatically “totally at-fault”. Others involved in the accident may
be found “comparatively at-fault”. However, under Utah’s comparative
negligence statute, only the party with lesser negligence can collect
from the party with greater negligence.
Q: If police can’t or don’t show up, what information should
I get from the other party?
A: In some situations police may be unable or unwilling
to investigate. If that happens, record the other party’s vehicle license
plate number, make, model and color. Swap driver’s licenses info and be
sure to record their DL #, name and address. Ask for phone numbers of the
other parties, all passengers and any witnesses. Also swap “insurance
information” with an emphasis on getting the policy number and insurance
Q: After reporting a new claim, when will I be contacted by a
A: Under normal conditions, you can expect to hear from
your claim representative within about 24-hours of reporting the claim,
often sooner. At present, the claim offices operate Monday – Friday, 8:00
am to 5:00 pm. However, new claims can be reported 24 hours a day, 7 days
a week by calling toll-free1-877-875-8038.
Q: What is the purpose in taking recorded statements?
A: Claim investigation involves gathering facts, evidence
and documentation to support claim conclusions. By formally recording reported
information, the facts tends to be more objective while eliminating bias
or misinterpretation. Recording statements also tends to increase the
factuality of reported information.
Q: Will a rental car be provided during the repair? How does it work?
A: If you purchased rental reimbursement coverage with
your policy, you will be reimbursed for temporary substitute transportation
through a legitimate rental car agency up to $20 per day for the number of
days allowed in the appraisers estimate, but never more than 30 days.
Since coverage is rental REIMBURSMENT, you will need to incur the cost of
the rental yourself and then submit a valid receipt for reimbursement.
Q: Can I choose my own body or repair shop?
A: Absolutely! The choice of repair providers is up
to you. We will have your vehicle professionally appraised and provide
an estimate which you can take to the shop of your choice. If you
don’t know any local repair shops, your adjuster will have suggestions --
but the choice is always yours. Be cautious of second-rate shops or those
who offer “deductible rebates” or other “creative” ideas. In the end, we
all benefit by helping keep the costs of insurance fair and reasonable.
Q: What if the shop finds damage not identified during the original appraisal
A: If the repair shop identifies other damages, they
will contact the appraiser for re-inspection or approval.
Q: What is a deductible?
A: A deductible is the dollar portion of a claim which the
insured must bear to have their vehicle repaired – usually $250 or $500 per
accident. If you purchased collision, comprehensive or uninsured motorist
PD coverage, and your vehicle sustains compensable damage, the insurance
company will pay for the repair, less the insured’s deductible.
Q: Why am I required to pay a deductible when the other person was at-fault?
A: Out-of-pocket deductibles always apply to collision,
comprehensive and uninsured motorist property damage. The good news is if
we are able to collect from the other at-fault party or their carrier, you
will get part or all of your deductible back.
Q: My car is total loss, so why am I being paid less than my loan pay-off?
A: Unfortunately, we have no control over what someone pays
for a car, how much a bank is willing to lend on a car, or the duration and
terms of the loan payments. All those factors can result in a loan balance
which exceeds the “fair market value” of the totaled vehicle. That situation
is often called, “being upside-down” on your loan. Most reputable lenders
will work with you in these situations and some even offer “GAP” coverage to
pay or offset any shortages
Q: How do you determine “fair market value” of a vehicle? Do you use NADA
A: Fair market value tends to be a function of the local
car market within a few miles of your residence. Unfortunately, NADA
(National Automobile Dealer’s Association) is a publication which caters
to retail automobile dealers and banking entities across large market segments.
Like many insurance companies, we use CCC Information Services, Inc. While CCC
includes NADA as valuation factor, they further provide very detailed local information,
including market comparables. CCC is considered by many to be the most accurate
and thorough vehicle auto valuation service in America. Your claim representative
will be happy to share the CCC analysis with you.
Q: How long does it take for my claim to be resolved?
A: The duration of a claim depends on the type of
claim involved and related complexities. Vehicle property damage claims
usually resolve within a few days to a few weeks. Un-recovered auto thefts
can take several weeks to finalize. The duration of injury and other
complex claims depends on many factors. The statue of limitation for
resolution of claims in Utah is three (3) years from the date of loss for
property damage and four (4) years for bodily injury liability.